Finding Destiny by Katrina Hart

1

Author Bio..

My name is Katrina Hart but I was always called Katie. I live in the East of England

with my family and Holly, Smokey my two cats as well as Jessie our dog, they are a

nutty bunch but I love them all the same. I have always had a passion for reading. I

could easily spend a whole lifetime engrossed in a good book. In my twenties I

joined an online writing class, where I fell in love with writing my own stories. Since I

started writing I have discovered a new love for quotes, a quote that really inspired

was from Toni Morrison. Toni said  “If there’s a book you really want to read but it

hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” I came across this quote whilst I was

studying, this is one of the many things that inspired me to begin my first novel. I

always welcome anyone to visit my blog at http://katrinamarie25.wordpress.com.

Genre: Fantasy Fiction

Book only out in EBook..

Blurb

When eighteen year old Alex’s little sister’s pony goes missing, he sets out to look

for her and finds himself in a strange gypsy camp in the middle of a forest. The pony

is being cared for by a young girl called Faith. When Alex accepts a drink from

Faith’s grandmother, he wakes up later to find himself transported into 2038 to a

technologically-advanced, very colourful world inhabited by humans and robots. Alex

soon discovers that he is now twenty, married and has a magical little baby girl. A

magic he only seems to notice. He soon finds out that he will have to defend his little

girl from the half-breeds with everything he has. He travels back through the magic

pages of books to try and save her before it is too late and she is lost from him

forever.

Sales links…

Publisher site… http://www.pilrigpress.co.uk/books.html

Amazon…  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Finding-Destiny-Katrina-Hart-

ebook/dp/B00U1WUFSE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1435744291&sr=8-

1&keywords=finding+destiny

Finding Destiny is now available on ITunes

Ibook  https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/finding-destiny/id975158084?mt=11

Blogs and Social media links.

Blog; https://katrinamarie25.wordpress.com/

Twitter; @KatrinaHart2015

Facebook.;  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Katrina-

Hart/1785712648319624?ref=hl

Goodreads.;  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13566519.Katrina_Hart

Book Excerpts.. Chapter one..

1

Finding Destiny

“Destiny! Destiny!” I yelled, walking the dark forest alone.

Broken branches crunched beneath my feet. Black, shadowing trees loomed over

me, following my every move. Owls hooted and flapped in every direction. I

proceeded, calling the girlie-named pony.

I walked till my feet burned. It had been hours with no sign of Destiny, when the

forest seemed to come alive before my eyes! Classical music hummed around a

circle of purple gypsy tents, which surrounded a huge pink camp fire. I rubbed my

tired eyes in disbelief. I opened them again and saw Destiny being cuddled lovingly

by a pale girl with black hair flowing like a never-ending river. I walked over to the girl

and Destiny.

“Hey miss, you found my sister’s pony.” I looked down at them both.

“Mister, she is my pony!” She held Destiny closer in a protective grip.

I was about to argue my point, but a cold hand pushed on my shoulder, stopping

me.

“Grandma! He wants my pony.” The girl pointed in my direction.

“Faith, don’t point it’s rude!” The old woman scolded her like she was a child.

“Where the hell did you come from!” I shouted and jumped to look her in the face.

“My tent, just this way,” the grandma said as she walked inside her purple tent.

I followed, outraged. I just wanted my sister’s pony back.

“Enter,” the old woman croaked, coughing.

“Are you okay!” I whispered.

“Yes! Yes! Don’t worry yourself, now what can I do for you, sir?” She coughed

again.

“I need my sister’s pony back. It’s her everything,” I pleaded.

“My Faith loves her too,” the old lady coughed again.

“I will do anything, I need that pony!” I tried again, staring into the old lady’s

purple eyes.

Her wrinkled, transparent face and white long hair, tied in a bun tight above her

head, made her look frail. She sat down behind a crystal ball. “Anything?”

I nodded.

“Let me see your future,” she coughed, rubbing her crystal ball and looking inside

its clear dome.

The silence dragged on like an unspoken question in a crowded room. Sadness

crossed her face.

“It’s done!” she shouted; her eyes seemed to turn black.

“Thank you.” I smiled, a little confused.

“My pleasure.” She coughed, handing me a blue drink in a clear glass. “Please

drink, it will bring you good luck on your way home. It’s a tradition, you know,” she

said.

I didn’t want to seem rude, so I drained the glass. My head spun and everything

became unfocused.

I fought to see through the darkness. Crying, and the smell of hay surrounded me.

“Hello! Who’s there? Where am I?” I whispered, following the cries of what

sounded like a girl being murdered.

“Hello!” I yelled over her cries. I feared for us both. A light danced on of its own

accord. Straw was everywhere. Pink, blue and red horses wandered about, leaving

their stalls empty. The barn looked steel, unlike anything I had seen before. A

computer was flat-attached to the wall, but there was no keyboard to type on. Had I

been drinking? Or dreaming? I wasn’t sure, but this barn looked far too advanced for

my time.

The girl’s cries turned to screams. The sound was deafening; my heart thumped. I

stood beside the screaming stable door, sliding it open with a loud squeak. Peering

inside, her gaze met mine; her black flowing hair lay upon the straw, sticking to her

sweat-covered forehead.

“Faith? Is that you? What are we doing here?” I rushed to her side.

“I’m screaming and you are late!” she said blowing out a breath.

“I don’t even know where we are, do you?” I retorted.

Faith screamed, grabbing my hand like a vice then relaxing once more. She

placed an old folded piece of paper into my hand.

“Read it!” Her breath came out raggedly.

The note read …

Dear Alex, and Faith.

Destiny had many lovely years with your little sister, as promised Alex.

I saved your lives. You are in 2038 on the morning that bound your futures

together. I saw it!

Don’t hate an old Gypsy for sending you on your way.

Good luck both of you!

The note fell from my hands, “We are in 2038, hell!”

“Isn’t it?” Faith screamed.

I tried to get Faith to let go of my hand. Then her body went stiff and I began to

panic; she needed a doctor or midwife right now. But a cry split the air and a robot

computer handed her a screaming baby.

On the computer screen, fireworks announced Faith had a baby girl

“We,” she whispered, as the robot computer walked away. I kissed Faith softly on

the lips, and a weird deja vu came over me. Love flooded my heart, sending warm

shivers coursing through my body.

“Shall we call her Destiny?” Faith asked, gazing into my eyes.

“That’s perfect,” I smiled.

This was the first moment of my new life.

1b

The Joy of Character Names..

When I started writing Finding Destiny I really enjoyed researching names for my

characters. I started off finding names that had meanings such as Estelle means star

and many other characters have interesting meanings to their names. I also love

putting words together to create names like Madam Moonfighter and Dragonstar and

see if they suit them.

Other times characters have told me their names on first seeing them in my mind.

Even if it’s not a name I would pick I never have the heart to change their names,

because I think if a character reveals a name right away its likely important to them.

I do think names are important not only does each character have to live with at

name for the rest of their story/life, but  a name can also bring out their personality

and even in some cases  make them sound more important than a fellow character.

A name gives a character an identity, so I do think long and hard on names and how

many a character should have. Mainly from personal experience of having two

names myself and growing up often being called both at different times can be

interesting. And often made me think of my star sign Pisces two fish pulling in

different directions. So when choosing my character names I try to choose them as if

that name will seal part of their fate for the rest of their lives and help lead them

down their path to their future.

I think creating names for characters can be fun and I’ve tried a few ways like putting

the name in a different language or mixing two names together. Or thinking of names

that have the cute factor like Woofkin or Fumble.  I also like creating names that suit

a characters personality such as: Missy Talk Alot when she came into my novel she

was bossy and talked a lot about her wants and dreams, therefore she got blessed

with a name that suited how she was as a person. Dragonstar’s name was created

much the same way although I went with dragon because he’s relentless on what he

wants and star because he lurks in trees at night.

One of the things I learnt while naming my characters was some can end up with the

same name spelled two different ways. Through editing and really looking at whether

this would be confusing or not? I decided that in fact it likely would, so now I try really

hard not to have two characters with the same names when I’m choosing or creating

them.

My advice on picking names is to pick them wisely and have fun looking into the

ones that suit your characters best.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Finding Destiny’s Tour links… | Katrina Marie
  2. Finding Destiny. (@KatrinaHart2015)
    Aug 31, 2015 @ 18:17:02

    Thank-you for having me on your blog…

    Take care.

    Katie.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

