When I Grow Up by Patricia Asedegbega

1

BUY LINK:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/When-grow-PATRICIA-ASEDEGBEGA-NIETO-ebook/dp/B010ZUPXWY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1436218614&sr=8-2&keywords=patricia+asedegbega

Blurb

When I grow up…

“You need a plan B,” said Alicia’s mother when at five years old she told her what she

wanted to be when she grew up. Thirty odd years later, Alicia is on plan D: sharing a flat, no

tangible savings, and working for hateful Julia, whose sole purpose in life is to make her

existence utterly miserable. Good thing she has Oscar and the girls to make the long hours

at work bearable. But when a series of events tears the close-knit group apart, putting

friendships and motives under suspicion, will Alicia be able to restore balance and set things

right? More importantly, will she ever be able to upgrade her life to at least plan C?

1b

To be able to get lost in a book and actually not notice what is going on around us is

priceless. That familiar feeling we get when finally arrive at the end of the book or when we

stay up way past our bedtime because we can´t wait to see what happens next is a clear

indication that an author has done a good job.

My favourite genre has always been mystery. I read other genres too but the ones that

make me look for stolen moments to read one more page knowing it will bring me to the

bitter-sweet end are suspense packed novels. I have read quite a lot of books belonging to that

genre and discovered a number of authors but for me the queen of mystery is; Agatha Christie

because even though she did not have at her disposition when she wrote her books all the

modern scientific techniques we have today to resolve crimes, she used the basic but infallible

“human nature” to arrive at her conclusions. There is always a human hand behind everything

and the motives behind every crime never change, people are driven by the same basic human

emotions, the positive and the negative and those are timeless.

As a writer, I try to create the same expectation and surprise in my readers as my

favourite authors did for me. Nothing gives me more pleasure than when somebody tells me

that the end of my book surprised them or that they had no idea who the guilty person was.

This for me means that I have done a good job as it isn´t easy creating suspense packed scenes

that are both logical and plausible. But, that is the beauty of writing fiction; it allows us to

create parallel stories to reality, giving us the ability to mold and change events to achieve our

desired results.

I think in order to go through life successfully; we need to be able to find humour even

in the difficult situations we face. So in my novels, I always include elements that make the

readers laugh or chuckle (at least I try to provide that release). Either in my characters or in the

diverse situations they find themselves in. People read in their leisure time and it is a great

escape from our mundane and daily troubles. So one of the main aims I have as a writer is to

entertain them.

To everyone who has the ability to create a world of fiction in which anything is

possible, I urge you to take the plunge and share your work. Most authors have a defined

genre even though we might dabble in others from time to time just to see if we can produce

something else in a different setting and still capture the attention of our readers. It is a very

competitive world out there and there are lots of authors fighting to make their mark in the

world of letters and words, but I firmly believe that there is a place for all of us; you just need

to keep writing and trying.

Biography

Author of I stand Corrected, Rewind, Balou Uncensored, Bienvenidos a gatos anónimos,

Pasarse cuatro Pueblos and Sesenta segundos dan para mucho, Patricia Asedegbega Nieto

was born to a Spanish mother and a Nigerian father in Madrid. As a child, she relocated with

her family to Nigeria and later returned to Spain, where she acquired her BSc and master´s

degree.

She is currently living near Madrid with her family and her very stubborn cat, Merlin Mojito.

LINKS

https://twitter.com/Patricias_Place

https://www.facebook.com/PatriciasUniverse

http://www.patriciascorner.co.uk

Leave a Reply

