The Prince of Whispers by Jen Bradlee

2a

Author Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JenBradleeAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JenBradlee

Blog: http://www.jenbradlee.wordpress.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/Jen_Bradlee

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00MMIDPV4

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Prince-Whispers-Wicked-Trilogy-Book-

ebook/dp/B00YB2OGV2/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1432822482&sr=8-

2&keywords=the+prince+of+whispers

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/545831

BLURB

Dear reader…

If you are expecting a traditional medieval tale or charming prince, you will not find it here.

I am not like other men for I have a voracious appetite and will appease it no matter the

cost. Do you doubt my confession? Then I invite you to step into my kingdom.

Women were created for pleasure, tis my obligation to see them fulfilled. When I whisper,

they come to me. All save one…Lady Ruby. I can see the desire in her eyes even though her

pure and noble heart fights against it. She may be an outlaw, but a rare gem such as she has

never been found in Meradin. She is my challenge, my penance, and my weakness. Nothing

short of Almighty God himself can keep her from me. I shall possess her. Ruby is mine.

Dear reader, will you begrudge me your company when you learn of my past and how

wicked I can truly be? Or will you come to me willingly, surrender yourself to my charms,

and beg for more? Surely my tale of intrigue, murder, and treason will be enough to tempt

you to sin with me if only for a short while. Come with me, and I will lay myself bare.

Prince Crispin Saville

EXCERPT

His gaze narrowed. “Do not mistake my interest in you for compassion, Ruby. I have

never been a thoughtful or compassionate man.”

“What do you want from me?” she asked. “I have no coin, no wealth, nothing that would

satisfy your greed.”

“Is that so?” he whispered, reaching up to brush his fingertips across her jaw and down

her neck. She was softer than he had imagined, and his cock hardened at the solitary touch. “I

think you underestimate your own value, my lady.” His hand stilled instantly at the cold press of

a blade against his inner thigh.

“One more move, bastard, and I’ll send an entire kingdom of whores into mourning.”

Ruby’s threat hung between them. Crispin watched her closely. He could see the lust in

her gaze, but she was fighting it and winning. He dropped his hands to his sides.

“I yield,” he said. Even though he no longer touched her, he was close enough to feel the

heat radiating from her. He bit his lower lip in agitation. Her gaze fluttered to his mouth, and he

saw her silent gasp, the hitch in her breathing. He grinned and took a step back. “Please, join me.

You are welcome to use the bath, if you are so inclined.”

Ruby shook her head. She approached the table where his dinner sat. “May I?” she asked,

glancing at him.

Crispin nodded. His appetite had shifted. He watched her take large, ravenous bites. He

glanced down at his erection. It was obvious he would have to woo her into his good graces. He

shuddered to think what she would do to him should his identity be revealed, but even if they did

indulge in some bed sport, he would be long gone before she realized he was the prince. He

snatched his trousers off the bed and pulled them on. She ate silently, occasionally sneaking a

peek at him.

“Enjoying your meal?” he asked, lying down on the bed.

“Aye,” Ruby said around a mouthful of food. She swallowed and turned toward him. “I

believe the guards must have left by now.” She stood and headed for the door. “I thank you,

again.”

In an instant, Crispin was on his feet, his body between her and the door. Her surprised

expression reminded him of cornered prey. He took a step closer to her. She swallowed and

licked her lips.

“I need to leave. Stand aside.” Ruby shook her head and stalked forward, pushing against

him, hoping he would move.

Crispin grabbed her by the waist and backed her up, tumbling them both onto the bed. He

took her wrists and held her hands above her head, securing her under his weight.

“Why must you be so stubborn?” he asked, his voice husky.

“Why must you restrain me?” She arched a brow. “Get off.”

“So you can draw your weapon against me again? I think not.” Crispin groaned as she

struggled beneath him. “The next time you threaten me with a blade, you had better be prepared

to use it.”

GUEST POST

Writing is a fantastic, exciting way to purge your innermost desires. Well, at least that’s why I write.

It always fascinates me to learn why people take up the arduous task of writing. The emotion and

dedication that goes into an author’s work never ceases to amaze me. People always assume writing

is just sitting down and telling a story on paper. But nothing could be further from the truth. The

time, energy, and sacrifice we make as authors will never be fully understood or appreciated by the

outside world. An author’s journey will be ripe with struggle, but also full of rewarding moments. If

you are an author, the following advice may help you in your sojourn into the written world.

1. Write every day. Don’t just say you’re going to write. Sit your butt down and do it. At least a page

a day. Set a daily word count goal and stick to it. Don’t be ridiculous and say, “I want to write five

thousand words a day!” That’s a sure-fire way to set yourself up for failure. Writing that much in a

day is unrealistic for some people. Make your goal much simpler, so when you surpass it, you

surprise yourself. Five hundred words is a realistic goal to start out. As your confidence improves,

increase your daily goal.

2. Make it a habit. Writing should become a part of your daily routine. Even if you have to reward

yourself after you finish your daily goal, write. You will never see results if you don’t put in the time.

Writing should be part of your life, just like that morning cup of tea/coffee or brushing your teeth.

3. Write what you love. If you don’t like what you’re writing, no one else will either. In that same

train of thought, if you force yourself to write something your heart isn’t invested in, then your

readers will not become invested in the story. Your love of the story will shine through if you write

something that makes your heart happy.

4. Find support. A writer’s group, a critique group, or even just a small band of authors you’ve

befriended online…they are your support system. When you’re stuck on a story, brainstorm with

them. When you need input on a scene or a character, ask them. The unfortunate truth is that many

writers view other authors as a threat or as competition, but in reality, they are our greatest

support. We should be building each other up and supporting each other’s literary goals, not tearing

each other down in a vain attempt to beat someone else’s sales or goals. Find a group of authors

with whom you can share in mutual respect and support.

5. Learn to accept constructive criticism. All first drafts are shit. Accept this as truth. No one writes

perfect prose as it spills from our minds to the paper before us. We all have weaknesses in our

writing. The trick is finding someone to give us feedback to improve our work without tearing us

down. Constructive criticism should be a balance of positive comments and helpful suggestions. No

negativity allowed. Suggestions and support are important in polishing one’s craft. Do not fear

feedback from other authors or beta readers. They only want to see you succeed. So learn to not

take the feedback personally. This isn’t a reflection of you as a person; it’s about helping you be the

best writer you can be.

6. Don’t let the fear win. Rejection is a natural part of life. Don’t let it stop you from reaching your

goals. Not everyone will like your work, shrug it off and move on. Let it be a learning experience and

help you grow. Many famous authors have tasted rejection…let them inspire you.

Some people say writing is solitary work, but I think that’s a lie. From an idea’s conception, we have

great opportunity to allow the writing community to inspire, foster, and support our work. Write

without fear and pour your heart into it.

AUTHOR BIO

His gaze narrowed. “Do not mistake my interest in you for compassion, Ruby. I have

never been a thoughtful or compassionate man.”

“What do you want from me?” she asked. “I have no coin, no wealth, nothing that would

satisfy your greed.”

“Is that so?” he whispered, reaching up to brush his fingertips across her jaw and down

her neck. She was softer than he had imagined, and his cock hardened at the solitary touch. “I

think you underestimate your own value, my lady.” His hand stilled instantly at the cold press of

a blade against his inner thigh.

“One more move, bastard, and I’ll send an entire kingdom of whores into mourning.”

Ruby’s threat hung between them. Crispin watched her closely. He could see the lust in

her gaze, but she was fighting it and winning. He dropped his hands to his sides.

“I yield,” he said. Even though he no longer touched her, he was close enough to feel the

heat radiating from her. He bit his lower lip in agitation. Her gaze fluttered to his mouth, and he

saw her silent gasp, the hitch in her breathing. He grinned and took a step back. “Please, join me.

You are welcome to use the bath, if you are so inclined.”

Ruby shook her head. She approached the table where his dinner sat. “May I?” she asked,

glancing at him.

Crispin nodded. His appetite had shifted. He watched her take large, ravenous bites. He

glanced down at his erection. It was obvious he would have to woo her into his good graces. He

shuddered to think what she would do to him should his identity be revealed, but even if they did

indulge in some bed sport, he would be long gone before she realized he was the prince. He

snatched his trousers off the bed and pulled them on. She ate silently, occasionally sneaking a

peek at him.

“Enjoying your meal?” he asked, lying down on the bed.

“Aye,” Ruby said around a mouthful of food. She swallowed and turned toward him. “I

believe the guards must have left by now.” She stood and headed for the door. “I thank you,

again.”

In an instant, Crispin was on his feet, his body between her and the door. Her surprised

expression reminded him of cornered prey. He took a step closer to her. She swallowed and

licked her lips.

“I need to leave. Stand aside.” Ruby shook her head and stalked forward, pushing against

him, hoping he would move.

Crispin grabbed her by the waist and backed her up, tumbling them both onto the bed. He

took her wrists and held her hands above her head, securing her under his weight.

“Why must you be so stubborn?” he asked, his voice husky.

“Why must you restrain me?” She arched a brow. “Get off.”

“So you can draw your weapon against me again? I think not.” Crispin groaned as she

struggled beneath him. “The next time you threaten me with a blade, you had better be prepared

to use it.”

Leave a Reply

